beet leaf chips are tastier than kale chips but not as trendy.

The other day I went to the market and stocked up on my veges.  I bought the most beautiful beet and was thinking of ways to use the leaves when I thought….’why can’t I bake them like kale to make chips?’.  So I did and they were yummier than the kale chips I made and held together better also.  When walking through the local supermarket I saw a small packet of kale chips cost almost $8.00!! how is this possible?! Do they use a special type of golden kale? Since kale is a very reasonably priced vegetable (about $2.00 a bunch), how do they justify this?  Aaanyway, it is a very ‘on trend’ vege right now so maybe they are charging for its celebrity status…..hmmm.  I have gone on a bit of a tangent, but yes – as my title says, I liked the beet leaf chips much better and when buying whole (which is also cheap) its like you are getting two veges for the price of one.  It may not have the same hipster following but it is total value for money.  You should try it!

Has anyone else got some good vege ideas to share with me? 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “beet leaf chips are tastier than kale chips but not as trendy.

Leave a Reply

