a stranger kissed my baby…. what do I say?

On the weekend I was attending a good friend’s baby shower and had brought along my 12 week old little girl Lennox to meet a few of our mutual friends and old coworkers.   Most of the people I knew and a couple who I didn’t know at all.  During the morning a few of my old friends had a cuddle with Lennox but none of them kissed her, I kind of think it is weird to kiss another person’s baby unless you are related or a very very very close friend to the parents…. anyway, towards the end of the baby shower a woman who I had only been introduced to that day asked if she could have a hold of my baby.  I actually did not want to let her but had absolutely no idea how to go about saying no without offending her and making it all a bit awkward.  After considering it for a few days I still don’t know how to say no to a person I don’t want to hold my baby!

This woman held Lennox for a little while and then kissed her a couple of times on the head!! I was freaked out and felt yuk in the tummy about it and got Lennox back off her.  This woman was also wearing some strong cheap perfume and Lennox reeked of it for 2 days!  AAARGH!!  It would not wash out!! EUGGHH!   Has anyone else had this experience? Does anyone have any advice for me on how to politely say no to people when they want to hold my baby? What do I say!!

2 thoughts on “a stranger kissed my baby…. what do I say?

  1. I agree with you! It’s the most akward thing haha. You’ll get better with it, my girl is one now so I learnt to make shit up like
    “Oh she’s really tired(or sick)” then quickly walk away!:)

    • Yeah I will have to think of something to say! Its just so weird as I would never think to hold a baby of someone I don’t know and haven’t even spoken to. STRANGER DANGER!! AHAHA

Leave a Reply

