renovating fun!

When we were preparing the nursery for our baby’s arrival we purchased a cheap set of drawers with the view to renovate them.  I had high hopes that it was going to be me doing all the painting and decorating but the bigger I got the more difficult everything was and my talented husband ended up doing a much better job than I would have anyway!  Here is a picture of the drawers when I got them with all the scratches on top and made of horrible black laminate. 

crappy drawers with scratches

 

We started by sanding it slightly to roughen the laminate and using a brush to put on the primer/semi-gloss white to give it some texture to grip with the laminate.  The primer paint is a great product as it saves you money by not having to purchase two products to complete the project.  It is also has great coverage as you can see from the pic of the first coat.  After the first coat we used a sponge roller for 3 coats (see pic below)

ready for the design to be painted over it

Next we wanted to paint a Totoro design on the drawers.  This is where I had hoped I could do some painting but I was almost due at this stage and so let my husband who is an artist and comic book illustrator to do his stuff. He did a much better job of it than I could ever have!!

Totoro and friends

friends of Totoro

We are so happy with the way it all turned out.  It was a really fun project to do, next we are renovating an old school desk for my niece’s birthday. More to come!!! 🙂

One thought on “renovating fun!

Leave a Reply

