new year new beginnings

I have always been a person who loves to celebrate the new year and spend some time on new years eve reflecting on the past year and all that has been achieved and dreaming and setting goals and hopes for the new year.  This time I really struggled to relax and reflect as I have been feeling stressed and not sleeping well and I am finding it hard to have the distance in my mind to look back or look upon the future.  So I thought I would spend some time writing about this to help me through it.  It has been inspiring to read other posts on here and I am totally loving the little wordpress community.

This past year has seen us make some really tough decisions and live in a less than ideal situation just so we can get ahead and give our daughter and ourselves a better and brighter future.  I know that in the end I won’t regret these decisions but it has been a difficult year.  In saying that, we have got to have some amazing family time exploring our country while on day and weekend trips and we had a two and a half week driving holiday to see the snow and to visit the penguins.  We can say that we have swum in the southern ocean, bass strait, the tasman sea and the pacific ocean now too 😊.

I have also loved the time I have spent with my mum and watching the beautiful relationship between Lennox and her Nanna.  I definitely do not take my mum for granted as she has had a few health scares (including cancer) that has made me worry about her since I was six years old.  It is definitely a precious time to get to spend with her.

My dreams, hopes and goals for this year are based around my little family, my relationship with my husband and for my own personal development.  I hope we can find an affordable place to buy by the ocean – I don’t care if it is small, as long as it has some space for Lennox to play.  I dream about the life we will have when in our own place and I can’t wait to have more time alone with my husband.  Our relationship has really been tested this past year and I look forward to getting more snuggle time with him.  I look forward to enrolling Lennox in a kindy dance or gymbaroo type thing once we live at the coast again as I know she would love something like this and she is definitely ready to try it.

I will be working towards saving enough for a annual family holiday to the snow and my long term goal is an overseas trip in 5 years and another one in about 11 years! (i’ll talk more about these dreams in another post) With these trips, I estimate that we need to save about $50/week for each trip which is quite a lot!  Not to mention the other things I already need to budget for like house payments, water and rates and electricity, food and petrol….not to mention swimming lessons for Lennox as well as the gymbaroo class I would like to enrol her in!!! It is all totally doable but I have to be very savvy and frugal in many ways, but I love the challenge!

For me, I would like to continue to get as fit and healthy as I can.  I still have more weight to lose since having Lennox and I want to do more yoga for relaxation and to help with restoring my health and flexibility.  I am always striving to be a better mum and I am looking forward to Lennox and I getting to make a mess with more painting and drawing, and exploring the beach and all the fun stuff, we aren’t able to really make a mess here as my stepdad is funny about that so we contain it and clean up a lot! My dream is to have a place in the house for messy play and I can’t wait!!

I would also love to be able to read, write and create more and possibly get preggars with our second child if that is what is meant for us 😍.   🌊☀🌈

BATTLESURFACE - IMG_4117

mermaid beach, queensland, australia (home)

 

3 thoughts on “new year new beginnings

Leave a Reply

